Rotary clubs battle to golfing victory 1

Rayleigh Mill Golf Champion John Fairweather

Rotary clubs battle to golfing victory 2

Ajay Desai receives the Tony Bakonyvari Trophy on behalf of Rochford Rotary

THE ROTARY clubs of Rayleigh and Rochford held their annual golfing championship at Warley Park Golf Club.

Bill White of the Rayleigh club said: “Every year the golfers of the Rotary Club of Rayleigh Mill stage a bitterly fought competition to determine who is their champion golfer and every year the young, fledgling golfers of the Rayleigh Mill club also play against their more seasoned golfing veteran rivals at Rochford Rotary club for the Tony Bakonyvari Trophy.

”The Rotary Club of Rayleigh Mill’s Sports Secretary Dave Jarvis however decided to combine the two events this year in the interest of energy conservation, which saw15 golfers – 8 from Rayleigh and 7 from Rochford take to the course. 

The winners on the day were Rayleigh Mill Golf Champion John Fairweather on 32 points, and Rayleigh Mill Runner-up Martin Hodson on 26 points.

Brian Hunt came in first for the Rochford Club with Ajay Desai taking their runner-up prize. The prize for best guest was won by Clive Rowe with Rob Kitchin as the Runner-up. 

Craig Reynolds won the prize for the Longest Drive and Ajay Desai the prize for Nearest the Pin.

“The veteran golfers of the Rochford Rotary Club also managed to retain the Tony Bakonyvari Trophy by the narrow margin of 178 points to Rayleigh’s 149,” added Bill White.

about author


Stay up-to-date with Rayleigh & Eastwood